Balancing excersize and life

I ride my bike to work.  The company that I work for offers a financial benefit for not driving… a carpool stipend.  With the price of gas, in addition to the physical activity I receive makes it a no brainer for me.  It also justifies all of the bike stuff I still have laying around, from when i worked in that industry.  I consider myself blessed that I have the opportunity to park the truck and hop on the bike.

In addition to being on the bike four or five times a week, I try to get Bikram yoga at least twice a week.  Once or twice a month, I will find myself moving something heavy… yard work, helping a friend move a bed, or going out and shooting at an Appleseed Project shoot (in this case, I am referring to moving my 215 lbs frame up and down all day long.)  I really enjoy the physical activity, but I worry that I am spending too much of my time on it.

This year is one of the first years I have really had to organize and prioritize my time.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean to say that I just sit my rear on the couch and waste time all day.  What I’m talking about is finding the time to get everything done that I want to get done.  I have committed myself to several projects that have not been completed yet, and it is starting to bother me.

Today, on my ride home from work, I starting thinking about whether I would pass on yoga tonight… again… or if I would go, and put off a couple other things I should get done.  Let me also mention that I only went to yoga once last week, and to be honest, my back is telling me that it has been to long since I was there.

In the end, I decided I’m going to yoga.  I will take the extra time to do something for myself… put off something that could be done, to spend time with my sweetie.  Lord knows, I might not always have the time to spend…

Life is too precious to spend it doing something that you don’t want to do.

Leave a Reply

