Beer or wine…

About two years ago I started making mead at home, about eight months ago I started home brewing beer.  In the past eight months I have made wine only once.

This got me thinking today, which do I prefer, when do I prefer it and why.

Many of you will agree with me, this is not a simple question to answer.  Some days you feel like a beer and a plate of nachos, other days you want to slowly sip that glass of dark ruby and munch on a couple of slices of cheese, while contemplating unanswered questions from the day.

This is not to say that the beer can’t be intriguing to you or your pallet.  For example, I brewed what could be considered a clone of Chimay’s blue cap.  I think my brew has a wider range of character then the Chimay does (which sells for $13.00 a bottle)  My Belgian strong ale could stand up with many wines, as it has 12% ABV.  Or maybe the nice bitter, grab your tongue and yank, double IPA is what you are looking for.

If you are pairing with food, your options could overlap.  Maybe you are entertaining and have a varied group of pallets, some might want beer, others wine.  To be prepared, in my opinion you should be… even in the beverage category, you should have a nice selection of both.  I would like to say that I have a good knowledge of the flavors and traits of my stock, but… alas, I do not have the time to focus on such things.  I think I will start a notebook with tasting notes.  This will give me reference to what will pair best with what ever meal I may be making.

My goals for 2012… make more wine, continue experimenting with beer recipes and advance my own craft, share the hobby and enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

