Riding the bike

Initially, I think I started riding my bike to work because my employer offers a stipend for “alternative” methods of travel.  I.E., they pay me to not drive to work.  The stipend is available to those who carpool, use public transit, or in my case ride a bike.  This not being the whole truth, as I worked in the bicycle industry before my current work, I still have several bikes.  I’ll get into the bikes a bit later.

One of the first advantages I realized from riding the bike was that I was not craving that second, third, or even fourth cup of coffee in the mornings.  Trust me when I say that I LOVE coffee… cutting back on the number of cups is next to amazing.  After the reduction in coffee, I realized that I was losing weight… at first… and then I gained some… in addition to my paints now being snug in the butt and thighs…  yes… the five miles from home to work has added muscle mass to my…. ummm… yeah…  I feel much better, not as run down.  The third, and maybe the biggest advantage, I get any aggression from the day out on my ride home.  I turn up the screws and really crank it on the way home.  I get my heart rate up, get a little sweat going, and I get from work to home… what’s there not to love?

Another great feature of me riding the bike to work, I’m not feeding my truck $4.00 per gallon gasoline on a weekly basis.  I have been filling up my Chevy Silverado about once every other month, except when we go camping… for the better part of the past year.  The way I see it, I’m saving about $150-$200 per month by riding my bike… that’s $1,800-$2,400 per year!  How’s that for fuel efficient!?!?! Saving money is a key point of the prepper mindset.  Saving funds where you can, to extend them to other areas.

The final factor, something I alluded to earlier, is the relaxation, the aggression release, the zen… that I get from riding the bike.  I get the juices flowing.  I’m being healthier.  I’m less stressed and happier.  Maybe it is just that I never actually grew away from the joy of riding my bike.  I have always felt a… freedom… associated with riding.  Freedom.  I go where I choose.  I set my mind to take me where I want to go.  Freedom.  It just feels good.  Freedom feels the soul.  Get out there, ride.

2 thoughts on “Riding the bike

  1. umbafa says:

    Had a chance to sit down today and read your entire blog. Good stuff! Keep it up. I will be adding you to both of our blog rolls. Look forward to seeing you guys next week.

Leave a Reply

