It’s Friday, how about a beer… and/or some wine?

So, when I got home from work today I thought I would crack open one of the Belgian Dark Strong Ales I made back in November ’11.  Wow, the EtOH is still a touch on the heavy side, taste wise anyway… it is 12.5%.  It really grabs your tongue.  It needs another 6 months in the bottle and it should really be good.

Not a bad way to start the weekend.  Strong beer, cat purrring in my lap, sittin’ on the porch listening to the sounds of the city as it winds down it’s week.  Time to relax and let the slime of the week slide off of me.  I think I will grab some cambozola and open up a bottle of red.  The cambozola cheese and red wine remind me of Remmy from Ratatouille, when he describes the flavors you get when you eat two strong flavors together.  It’s like a symphony in you mouth.  Flavors exploding on top of each other, fighting to reach your tongue.  Wow… good stuff.

For red, I preffer a younger, stronger, more up front flavor.  Something with nice strong tannin structure and acidity.  Lately, my varietal of choice has been a component of many a Bordeaux wine for quite some time, Malbec.  I was first introduced (at least as far as I can remember) to Malbec at a little winery in Temecula by the name of Doffo.  If you are in the area, I definitely recommend it.  Their Malbec was quite exquisite.  So, ever since I have looked for it… and have not found one that I really didn’t like.  It is said that Malbec is one of the best kept secrets of Argentina.  If you like red, and haven’t tried Malbec, I would recommend it, you will be glad you did.

If you partake in the vino, raise a glass.  It’s the weekend, and Mother’s Day weekend, at that.

So, as a send off for the week, salute!

Leave a Reply

