Adding a drip system to the garden

Last week I purchased a kit to install a drip system in my garden.  There were multiple reasons I wanted to do this.  One being water conservation, another, save myself some time.  Combined the two equal money savings.  I will be automating the system as well, which will help when I travel out of town, I will not have to worry about making arrangements for someone to stop by and water.

Conservation is a two fold attribute.  One, I live in Southern California… a desert.  Yes, the water saved will not be much, but ever last bit counts.  The other part of conservation, a decrease in the bill.  The less water that I use, the smaller my bill, the more money in my pocket.  I will be able to conserve by putting the water where it is needed, instead of water the entire area, losing some of the water to evaporation.  The automation saves me time, which equates to more money saved.

A third point, and maybe I am just justifying this to myself.  Starting the project gets me outside, and adds knowledge and experience of a new skill that very well could come in handy down the road.  Eventually I would like to do this with a rain catchment system, to further lower the cost of operating.

Leave a Reply

