WOW!!!! back to Bikram… I don’t remember it feeling like this…

So today I took my lazy butt back to yoga.  It has been six weeks since I was last at class.  Life had gotten crazy and just didn’t have the chance to get to class.  I knew it was going to be a little rough, and I wasn’t just going to step right back in where I left off, but….

It is really amazing how tight ones back can get from staying away from the yoga studio.  Right off the bat, with half moon, I knew that my body was not going to cooperate tonight.

So, I go at it with the intention of “taking it easy”…. which lasts all of about five seconds.  I’m pushing for the limit… and it’s only 10 seconds into the 60… oh boy, so this is how my first class back is going to go…

Make it through half moon, awkward pose… amazingly strong.  Excellent, maybe this won’t be as bad as I thought.  Eagle pose, piece of cake, confidence is building.  Standing head to knee, I’m not the greatest, but I can hold my own for a big guy… not bad.  Balance is a little off, but I pull through.  Standing bow… right side ok… left side… umm… I think my foot is supposed to come over the top… I think… Oh boy, heart rate is really starting to climb.  Hmmmm, this could be trouble.  Balancing stick, I’m still here… Standing separate leg, breath… and of course everyone’s favorite! Triangle pose!… oh crap, legs are shaking… I really don’t remember this being this hard… come on, come on, let me switch!!!!! ok, switch… oh crap, now I’m doing this to the other side.  Phew, made it through that, standing separate head to knee… wait… this is normally an easier pose… awwww crap… this really is going to be one of those nights.  Tree pose and toe stand… balance is wobbling, please don’t fall over.  And then one of the best parts of the night, Savasna… dead man’s pose… I’m on my back trying to catch my breath.

The rest of the night was manageable.  I made it through.  But my arms were feeling the strain.  I think it will take another two practices to get my back back to straight. If someone had told me it was going to feel like this, I would not have taken a month and a half off.  Moral of the story, do not take a long time off and expect that you will come back where you left off.

Leave a Reply

