Garden update

It has been a while since I posted about the status of the garden.  Just about all of the lettuce, spinach, arugula and coriander has bolted and gone to seed. All of my beets went straight to seed and/or died, which is weird, because beets aren’t supposed to go to seed until their second year.  Most of the carrots I planted did not get enough sun and died shortly after sprouting.

For once, I have onions that are actually forming a bulb and are not going straight to seed.  The shallots that never came out of the ground last year have all multiplied and appear to be doing well.  I have some Italian Rose beans, as well as Blue Lake bush beans all going strong.  The tomatoes that were volunteers in mom’s garden are doing extremely well.  One is a beefsteak type and the other appears to be a cherry.  Two of the bell peppers that were planted two years ago refuse to die, they have some small peppers on them.

My hops are looking pretty good.  I think I over fertilized a couple weeks ago because they all but stopped their growth (maybe they were putting energy into root growth, ahead of a big push above ground)  I know that you shouldn’t expect to get much, if any, of a harvest from you first year, but it would be really cool to make a beer with home grown hops this year.

The fruit trees are doing ok.  The Blood Orange has a couple fruit on it, the Honey Mandarin is going gang busters, grapefruit is putting on some leaves (it needs them), the pear looks good (probably won’t get any fruit production until next year), the apple… the apple… darned neighborhood kids.  I have close to two dozen apples on the tree earlier this spring.  Now, there are 5.  I think they kids thought it would be fun to use them as projectiles… or food. Grumble…. And last but not least, my Kumquat is working on it’s third crop in a year and a half.

All in all, not bad, but I should put more production into the raised beds…  As with everything else, it’s finding the time.  I have to put that drip system and timer in this weekend.  That should help out.

Leave a Reply

